Message sent from:

The governing board of Garland Junior School

As governors we are committed to working alongside the Headteacher and teaching staff to create a stimulating and enjoyable environment in which children can learn, and gain vital social skills.

There are three Core Strategic Functions of Governance:

  • to ensure clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
  • to hold the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils
  • to oversee the financial performance of the school and make sure its money is well spent.

We encourage active and regular communication between governors, staff and parents and therefore welcome input from all stakeholders. If there is anything you would like to discuss or any suggestions you would like to make, please contact one of the Parent governors or the Clerk. The forthcoming meeting dates for the Full Governing Board are Wednesday 9th October and Wednesday 4th December.

The governors have four committees which provide guidance and assistance as follows: Pay committee in all matters relating to the review of pay, Finance Personnel & Resources (FPR) committee in all matters relating to budgeting and finance, performance management and personnel appointments, resource maintenance, repairs and improvements, Curriculum & Assessment (C&A) committee in all matters relating to pupil achievement, the promotion of the school in the community and monitoring the quality of teaching and learning and Exclusions & Complaints (E&C) committee which undertakes reviews of exclusions and investigates complaints when requested. The committees meet 3 times a year or as required.

Minutes of previous meetings are available - please ask at the school office. If you wish to contact the board, please email the clerk: jthompson@garland.w-berks.sch.uk or write c/o the school office.

Our governors are as follows:

Name                                             Type of governor & committee membership             
Mr Jason Chamberlin, Chair Co-opted, FPR & Pay committees
(Mrs Lisa Kelly) C0-opted, resigned 11.7.18 after long service.
Mrs Judith Pine Co-opted, C&A, E&C & Pay committees
(Mr Sean Wingrove) Co-opted, resigned 9.10.18, unforseen circumstances
Ms Britt Measures Co-opted, FPR (chair) & E&C committees
Mr Peter Patterson Co-opted, FPR & E&C (chair) committees
(Mr Sanat Misra) Co-opted, disqualified 31.10.18 due to non-attendance
Mr Neil Stacey, Joint Vice-Chair Parent, FPR committee
Mr Peter Maynard, Joint Vice-Chair Parent, C&A committee
Mr Stuart Brunson Co-opted
Miss Emily Dawkins Headteacher, FPR, C&A & Pay committees  
Mr Tom Brunson Staff, FPR, C&A committees
Ms Polly Cornish Co-opted

Please visit the 'Meet our Governors' page to find out more about the board.

Hit enter to search