Message sent from:

The governing board of Garland Junior School

As governors we are committed to working alongside the Headteacher and teaching staff to create a stimulating and enjoyable environment in which children can learn, and gain vital social skills.

There are three Core Strategic Functions of Governance:

  • to ensure clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
  • to hold the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils
  • to oversee the financial performance of the school and make sure its money is well spent.

We encourage active and regular communication between governors, staff and parents and therefore welcome input from all stakeholders. If there is anything you would like to discuss or any suggestions you would like to make, please contact one of the Parent governors or the Clerk. The forthcoming meeting date for the Full Governing Board is:

Wednesday 12 July.

The governors have three committees which provide guidance and assistance as follows: Pay committee in all matters relating to the review of pay, Finance Personnel & Resources (FPR) committee in all matters relating to budgeting and finance, performance management and personnel appointments, resource maintenance, repairs and improvements and Exclusions & Complaints (E&C) committee which undertakes reviews of exclusions and investigates complaints when requested. The committees meet 3 times a year or as required. Each governor is also linked with a curriculum leader or a senior leader responsible for areas such as Health & Safety or Pupil Premium.

Minutes of previous meetings are available - please ask at the school office. If you wish to contact the governing board, please email the clerk: jthompson@garland.w-berks.sch.uk or write c/o the school office.

Our governors are as follows:

Name                                             Type of governor & committee membership             
Mr Jason Chamberlin, Chair Co-opted, FPR & Pay committees
Ms Chani Morris Parent, Safeguarding Governor
Miss Emily Dawkins Headteacher, FPR & Pay committees
Mrs Sarah Menhenitt Staff, FPR committee
Dr Chris Evans Co-opted,  Finance, HT Appraisal and Pay Committees
Ms Joanne Nuckley Co-opted
Ms Kirsty Glanville Co-opted
Mr Amit Desai Parent
Vicky Collins Co-opted

Please visit the 'Meet our Governors' page to find out more about the board.

'Determination, Respect, Teamwork'
Hit enter to search